The world's scientific and social network for malaria professionals
Subscribe to free Newsletter | 11144 malaria professionals are enjoying the free benefits of MalariaWorld today

MIM2018: Keynote speaker Dr. Stephen L. Hoffman MD

March 16, 2018 - 14:01 -- Ingeborg van Schayk


Stephen L. Hoffman

Keynote speaker MIM 2018

Dr. Hoffman is the founder, chief executive and scientific officer of Sanaria Inc., a company dedicated to developing a whole sporozoite (PfSPZ) malaria vaccine to halt transmission and eliminate malaria, and chairman Protein Potential LLC, a company focused on developing vaccines for shigellosis, enterotoxigencic E. coli diarrhea, and typhoid fever.

From 1980-1984 he was chief of clinical investigation at NAMRU-2 in Jakarta, Indonesia. From 1987-2001 he was malaria program director, Naval Medical Research Center, where his team were leaders in subunit malaria vaccine development and sequencing the Plasmodium falciparum genome and published the first studies in the world showing DNA vaccines elicited killer T cells in humans. In 2001 he joined Celera Genomics as Sr. VP biologics and created a program to 1) utilize genomics and proteomics to produce biopharmaceuticals, initiating the field of personalized (precision) medicine, and 2) sequence the genome of the mosquito, Anopheles gambiae. He has held several professorships, chairs or serves on multiple advisory boards, is past president of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, authored > 425 scientific publications, and has numerous patents.

He is the most highly cited author in the world for scientific papers on malaria published between 1995 and 2005, was listed as the third most influential person in the world vaccine industry in 2015 when he received the Vaccine Industry Excellence Award for Best Biotech CEO.

He received his BA from the University of Pennsylvania, MD from Cornell, and Diploma in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene from London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and did residency training at UC San Diego. He was elected to membership in the National Academy of Medicine in 2004, and received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Weill Cornell Medical College in 2016.